Skip to content

The Little House

November 5, 2010

Just a quick post to mention The Little House that aired on Monday on ITV1, attracting nearly 6 million viewers and trumping the “Spooks” penultimate episode over on the other side.  I was Sound Supervising Editor on the job earlier in the year, working with director Jamie Payne and producer Jeremy Gwilt.

I’d just like to mention one of the sound challenges that I faced in this show, which is an issue I seem to have faced in a few TV programmes over the last couple of years:  A baby playing a very significant role but having little or no sync sound to cover the multitude of different moods that it goes through during 2 x 60 minute episodes.

Luckily for me, I happened to have recordings of my son crying, gurgling, chuckling, screaming – the lot.  I’d recorded some when he was pretty much newborn, only intending to capture the cute little noises he often made but inevitably ending up getting crying sounds too.

Later, when he was about six months old, I worked on another ITV programme called Sleep With Me which similarly required baby vocalisations throughout it’s entirety – mainly distressed crying and screaming.  My little boy was waking a lot during the night at that time so it was very easy just to leave the mic in the corner of the room when he woke us up crying.  I can’t say I was terribly popular with my wife for doing this but it has resulted in giving me a great stock of sounds to cover a variety of baby moods and ages when needed.  My little boy is now nearly 3 so it’s getting increasingly weird to hear these familiar baby noises coming out of the TV, but it’s very nice in a way too.

The reason I mention all this is that I happened to stumble upon a rarety; a TV review that mentions the sound!  It’s actually an ITV Discussion Forum, which comments on these baby sounds throughout Monday’s episode of “The Little House”.  As the sound editor on the show, I’m sure you can appreciate that some of the comments are quite satisfying for me to read.  Others are just plain funny.

Congratulations to Jeremy for the success of the first episode which you can still watch online for a little while, and best of luck for episode 2 on Monday at 9pm again!

 

 

From → Post Production

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

