Skip to content

Funkhaus Berlin

June 25, 2009

Following on from my last post about my trip to Germany last week, I’ve discovered a very interesting foley studio in a highly unusual setting.  It’s called Funkhaus Berlin.

This website I came across has a really good two-part article about the building, including it’s history (which is also well covered by Wikipedia), so I’ve provided links to them both rather than regurgitating all the information here.  In a nutshell, The Funkhaus was built in the 1950s by the East German government to cater for all it’s radio broadcasts.  Some of those broadcasts included plays, for which there were extensive facilities for foley accompaniment.

These facilities seem to be in a part of the building that is now owned by a company called Planet Roc.  I’ve tried contacting them to find out more about the building’s foley capabilities but have had no reply so far.  However, you can get an idea of some of the unusual spaces and surfaces available from these pictures:

Spiral Surfaces

Multi-surface Staircase

Dungeon

I love recording in unusual buildings like this.  Some of the pictures remind me of the old Middlesex Hospital building in Central London that I was fortunate enough to get the chance to record before it was demolished to make way for (surprise, surprise) luxury apartments.  Myself and two other people were able to wander freely through old operating theatres, waiting rooms and even the morgue.  The electricity had already been switched off in preparation for demolition so areas without windows were in almost total darkness.  Very creepy!  I don’t mind telling you I made sure I was in the middle of our group as the three of us walked around the unlit hallways.  Everyone knows the guys at the front and back are the first ones to get picked off in horror movies!

From → Post Production

3 Comments
  1. Enos Desjardins permalink

    I’ve heard of this place before! The main sound designer for the film I am currently working on is based in Berlin and told me about this building and we were even looking into using it for Foley…but I’m still waiting for a response too 😦

    Anyways…looks like an interesting place!

  2. sonicskepsi permalink

    I did hear back from them in the end – I can e-mail you the info I got if you’re still interested.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Miscontinuum. The Recording Session. | del Yelmo Blog

Leave a Reply

