Skip to content

Jonny Greenwood

June 10, 2009

I came across this interview with Jonny Greenwood recently on the Entertainment Weekly website.  I was interested to read his comments about his score for There Will Be Blood because when I watched the film I particularly liked the music (without knowing who had written it).  In fact, I thought it was the most original, interesting and emotive film score that I’d heard in a while.

I happened to listen to the film on DVD with headphones on and, consequently, got a stronger sense of the lush room ambiance on the recording of the music (courtesy of Abbey Road Studios, I noticed in the credits) than, perhaps, I would have normally done in the cinema.

The room ambiance on the music really made me aware of it as a studio recording, and yet it would often be playing over lengthy exterior shots of vast, silent American panoramas.  I personally found this juxtaposition evocative of old silent movies which had musical accompaniment by a live band or orchestra.  I don’t know if this is deliberate or not but I found it very well suited to the film’s setting in the early 1900’s.

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

